ARC REVIEW: Grit by Gillian French

Title: Grit

Author/s: Gillian French

Publication Date: May 16th 2017

Publisher: by HarperTeen

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 304

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

is presence beside me is like heat, like weight, something I’ve carried around on my back too long.
Raw and moving, this contemporary realistic debut novel will leave readers of E. Lockhart and Gayle Forman breathless as it unflinchingly unfolds the tragic secrets being kept in a small, deceptively idyllic Maine town.


Seventeen-year-old Darcy Prentiss has long held the title of “town slut.” She knows how to have a good time, sure, but she isn’t doing anything all the guys haven’t done. But when you’re a girl with a reputation, every little thing that happens seems to keep people whispering—especially when your ex-best friend goes missing.

My Thoughts

**Thank you HarperCollins International for providing an ARC of Grit.bBeing provided a review copy doesn’t affect nor influence my thoughts about the book.**

Primarily, this book disappointed me. 
The book was a bit different than what I thought. I expected conflicting mysteries, some sort of character insanities and mind-blowing twists and turns.
Instead of having read those, the author just showcased the daily life of the main character. The story revolved around Darcy’s journey, her continuous mention about the thing that happened on the fourth of July, the sudden disappearance of her former best friend, the problems that she’s currently facing and their preparation for the beauty pageant. Speaking of, I still don’t understand the part that the pageant played, what’s its concern, why is there a need to make a storyline with a pageant or what message it’s trying to convey. 
I don’t understand a lot of things. The story focused on too many activities at once. Turning the pages, I kept on waiting to be exposed to the real mystery, with hopes of finally reading a surprise revelation. So much is going on with the plot. I struggled looking for the main point of the story. 
I admired Darcy Prentiss’ character, she’s a strong girl who gives importance to her family. A girl full of determination. Someone who doesn’t care about what other people say to her. I liked how she handled all the issues about her, the slut-shaming and all. She managed to force a smile and laugh at the insults. I guess I focused more on this kind of real-life issues (sexual assaults) than the mysteries. 
Aside from the characters’ strong voice, what kept me reading this novel is the writing style of the author. French was able to use figures of speech that sometimes I tend to forget that the confusing plot is pissing me off. I appreciated her style. 
Altogether, I think Grit has a lot of potential, and it would be an okay read if the plot wasn’t as busy as it was. Just some cleaning up will do. 

Rating

2tars


author


Gillian French is the author of three novels for teens: GRIT (HarperTeen, 5/16/2017), THE DOOR TO JANUARY (Islandport Press, 9/5/2017), and THE SUMMER BOYS (HarperTeen, 5/2/2018). Her short fiction has appeared in Odd Tree Press Quarterly, EMP Publishing’s anthology Creepy Campfire Stories (for Grownups): Tales of Extreme Horror, Sanitarium Magazine, and The Realm Beyond. She holds a BA in English from the University of Maine, and lives in her native state of Maine with her husband and sons, where she’s perpetually at work on her next novel.

 


imo.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Advertisements

BOOK REVIEW: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Title: The Darkest Corners

Author/s: Kara Thomas

Publication Date: April 19th 2016

Publisher: Delacorte

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 336

Purchase at:Amazon

synopsis

The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

thoughts

Thank you Penguin Random House for providing a review copy in exchange of an honest review.

Tessa went back to Fayette to visit her imprisoned dad, but it’s not that easy for her because things that aren’t nice happened back then. She’ll have to face her aloof childhood best friend. Something’s bothering her, she feels like they did something wrong in the past. Now she must decide whether to unravel the past, or move on.

The best thing about mysteries and thrillers is you’ll never be certain about who you can trust. You suspect everyone, even the protagonist.

I like how interesting the characters are, their interaction. There’s not much romance, it focused mainly on the mystery, the characers’ relationships, family, friends. Tessa and Callie have on of those conflicted kind of friendship, and the complexity of it made me realize how authentic the story is.

The Darkest Corners is confusing, disturbing, and unnerving. It is not graphic neither gruesome. Not even scary, just plain thrilling. It has dark elements that will make its readers glued to the story. How Kara Thomas played my mind pissed me off. She’s amazing. If you’ll read the book, you’d find yourself thinking that every character might be a subject for suspicion.

I gave the book 4 stars because the ending did not satisfy me. I expected more for an ending. It happened too fast. Things were not wrapped up nicely. Questions are left hanging. Answers need more explanations.

This book is for strong, and capable minds. Ones who can solve the puzzle, find the right piece. One that’s not easily fooled.

Rating

4stars


author

Kara is the author of THE DARKEST CORNERS, coming April 2016 from Random House/Delacorte. She is also the author of the Prep School Confidential series from St. Martin’s Griffin under the pen name Kara Taylor. Kara has written for Warner Brothers Television and currently writes full-time on Long Island, where she lives with her husband and rescue cat.

Follow  on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

BOOK REVIEW: Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten ( #ThrillerThursday ) @PRHGlobal

Title: Beware That Girl

Author/s: Teresa Toten

Publication Date:

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 316

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

“For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.


The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brian appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.”

thoughts

Thank you so much PRH Global and Penguin Randon House for the review copy, in exchange of an honest review.
3.3 stars
The chronology is bound between Olivia, a girl who depends on pills to get through the day, and Kate, a masterful liar, a control freak who has contumelious history. For their own benefits they became friends.
Kate is quick-witted. Since she’s a scholar,bit is evident that she’s brilliant. Aside from those, she’s too mysterious and I don’t like her attitude which made me dislike her.

Some goes to the rich, but depressed Olivia.
This book is darker than I thought it would be. The plot made me feel uncomfortable. The relationship between Olivia and Mark is intolerable. I’m always in a state of uneasiness when it comes to the two of them.
Beware That Girl was gratifyingly written. Though spine-chilling, I find some parts of the book predictable. And sometimes, the plot descends tedious at few points. Not to mention that the pace of the story is turtle slow. And dialogues seem to be monotonous.
I liked Toten’s writing style. It’s quite appealing, and is oriented. I liked how she made complex characterizations more complicated because of her skill. It’s coronary.
Though I feel like some parts are missing, I enjoyed reading the book.
If you’re a fan of Gillan Flynn’s and Abigail Haas’ books, give this one a try.

 

Rating


author


Teresa Toten
My earliest and most fervent ambition was to grow up and take my rightful place among the other mermaids. When cruel and insensitive adults crushed that dream by insisting that mermaids did not exist, I settled on the more mature aspiration of becoming an intergalactic astronaut. Then I realized that math would likely be involved. So, in the end, I went to Trinity College at the University of Toronto where I got a BA and then an MA in Political Economy taking great care not to take a single English or Creative Writing class. The only thing I knew for sure was that I was never ever going to be a writer. That would be silly, fanciful and well, unrealistic. And then I started to write…

Follow Teresa on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger