BOOK REVIEW: History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Title: History Is All You Left Me

Author/s: Adam Silvera

Publication Date: January 17th 2017

Publisher: Soho Teen

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 320

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

“When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

My Thoughts

**Thank you Penguin Random House International for sending a copy of the book my way in exchange of an honest review, this however does not affect the content of my book review.**

Adam Silvera stabbed my heart a thousand times. This novel made me smile, laugh, mad, but most especially, it made me sad.

The story was told in alternating chapters between the history, and the present event. From the title per se, Griffin, kept on reminiscing everything that includes Theo. We were given enough reasons to be able to feel and understand his grief. And how hard it was for him to accept that the person whom he wants to spend his life with, broke his promise. The different timelines were interesting, for one makes Theo alive, and the other one just makes the reader realize that he is not.

I had a hard time liking the entire book. I was invested in the story, but at the same time, I hated how the main character annoy me. I WAS NOT A HUGE FAN OF GRIFFIN. Aside from the fact that he is a horny character, HE IS SELFISH. Still, I know that he’s just going through some things. Griffin has OCD, I can’t help but imagine how Griffin thinks, he has a distinct personality and somehow, it was handled perfectly. It may also be because I have never experienced grief, so I can’t relate that much to Griffin. That is what disappointed me, I failed to connect to the grieving character.

As for the plot, it was okay. I find it common but exciting. There was an event that I did not see coming. And when I say I did not see it, it was not even that obvious. You wouldn’t even think that that is possible. The complicated relationships played a huge part in me liking the plot of this novel.

Adam’s writing style is raw and simple, yet it made me feel as if every single thing is real.

A story about death, love, lost, grief and acceptance. A kind of book that I wanted to put down, but glad that I did not.

Rating

4stars


author

7577278

Adam Silvera was born and raised in the Bronx. He has worked in the publishing industry as a children’s bookseller, marketing assistant at a literary development company, and book reviewer of children’s and young adult novels. His debut novel, More Happy Than Not, received multiple starred reviews and is a New York Times bestseller, and Adam was selected as a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. He writes full-time in New York City and is tall for no reason

FOLLOW HIM:

 


imo.jpg

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Leave a Reply

