PH BLOG TOUR: Warcross by Marie Lu (BOOK REVIEW + GIVEAWAY)

29385546Title: Warcoss

Author/s: Marie Lu

Publication Date: September 12, 2017

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 368

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

“For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

My Thoughts

**Thank you Penguin Random House International and Raf The Royal Polar Bear Reads for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this blog tour, this however does not affect my review.**

Warcross is my first Marie Lu book, and she instantly became one of my favorite authors. Hands down to this astounding book, which is so far, my most favorite read this year. 

Who would’ve thought that rainbow-colored hair, hacking… Science, will have the power to make me feel as if I am on the edge of my seat? I am not a fan of Science Fiction, I am a Fantasy and YA Contemporary/Fiction lover. However, this Sci-Fi novel was beautifully made, I had to change my mind. I’ll go and try Sci-Fi’s now. Intimidation almost prevented me from reading this book because Warcross’ genre is something that is out of my comfort zone. 

Let’s first talk about the world building.  Imagine a world transformed by a virtual reality called Warcross. A game where an individual uses a cool pair of glasses called Neurolink (which fools the audience into thinking everything is real) a brain-computer interface. 

Warcross was pretty simple: two teams battled each other, one trying to take the other team’sArtifact (a shiny gem) without losing their own.

The futuristic components like the advanced technology, the virtual reality, especially Warcross’ world-building were handled in excellent and detailed ways. Reading the novel made me feel like I myself is inside their world, as if Marie Lu just pulled me in. I didn’t want to get out. What surprised me most is how easy it was to get along with Marie’s writing, knowing the fact that it’s Science (the main reason why I fear reading such genre) that we’re talking about here, Scientific aspects were explained meticulously. Also, Marie Lu dared to vividly discuss how technology and other innovations can change a person, how it affect one’s life. I mean, it was absolutely evident that the characters inside the novel are pretty much addicted to Warcross. 

The pacing was fast enough for such an action-packed story. I have no more words for this part, for the pacing was greatly made.

The diverse characters. Emika, Hideo, and the other characters are way different from each other, aside from the fact that most of them are gamers/players. Hideo is Japanese, Emika is Chinese-American. There are those who belong to the LGBTQ community. As well as there are characters of color. Having said about the diversity of the characters, let’s now talk about how developed they are. Emika is a bounty-hunter, a good, tough, and determined one, while Hideo is pretty interesting, he’s too mysterious in which it is a good fit for his character as the founder of Warcross. Both are tough, but complicated. Both are also SMART, and I’ve always envied people who are good in Science and Technology. 

I DISLIKE INSTA-LOVE. But I can’t say that I didn’t like the romance in this book. Because:

1.) The love was somehow showed in a slow and timely manner (but the attraction was dead obvious in the first place) 

2.) Emika did not depend her actions to her feelings. She quite used her head and thought about some things first. Hats off!

3.) I AM IN LOVE WITH HIDEO TANAKA. The entire time that I was reading parts where the spotlight was focused only on him and Emika, I CAN’T HELP BUT SWOON. 

Marie Lu introduced me to a remarkable plot that is full of hidden agendas, secrets, and lies. There were not any dull moments. Marie managed to show a balance between the imaginative and the real life stuff. Sadly, I managed to predict one of the twists. It kind of almost disappointed me because during the time that I was reading the book, it kept on surprising me. BUT it happened that I almost slapped myself for thinking that I predicted the biggest reveal. BUT MARIE LU PROVED ME WRONG, FOR I DID NOT SEE THAT ONE COMING! THAT PLOT TWIST LEFT ME TOTALLY FLABBERGASTED. 

Warcross was so intense, so thrilling, I did not even put the book down. It’s amazing how entertaining the book was. THE ENDING HURT ME. The book ended in the most intense part! I can’t believe that I would have to wait for a year for the next book. 

Overall, I JUST WANT YOU TO READ WARCROSS and hope that you’ll love it as much as I did.

Rating

5stars

GIVEAWAY

If you want to join the giveaway, please click HERE


author

4342215MARIE LU writeS young adult novels, and have a special love for dystopian books. Ironically, she was born in 1984. Before becoming a full-time writer, she was an Art Director at a video game company. Now she shuffles around at home and talk to myself a lot. 🙂

She graduated from the University of Southern California in ’06 and currently live in LA, where she spends my time stuck on the freeways.

Website 

Goodreads

Twitter

 


imo.jpg

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Leave a Reply

