BLOG TOUR: Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust (Book Review + Mood Board + Giveaway)

21325645_1422313911151640_1009778711_nTitle: Girls Made of Snow and Glass

Author/s: Melissa Bashardoust

Publication Date: September 5th 2017

Publisher: by Flatiron Books

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 384

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

Frozen meets The Bloody Chamber in this feminist fantasy reimagining of the Snow White fairytale

At sixteen, Mina’s mother is dead, her magician father is vicious, and her silent heart has never beat with love for anyone—has never beat at all, in fact, but she’d always thought that fact normal. She never guessed that her father cut out her heart and replaced it with one of glass. When she moves to Whitespring Castle and sees its king for the first time, Mina forms a plan: win the king’s heart with her beauty, become queen, and finally know love. The only catch is that she’ll have to become a stepmother.

Fifteen-year-old Lynet looks just like her late mother, and one day she discovers why: a magician created her out of snow in the dead queen’s image, at her father’s order. But despite being the dead queen made flesh, Lynet would rather be like her fierce and regal stepmother, Mina. She gets her wish when her father makes Lynet queen of the southern territories, displacing Mina. Now Mina is starting to look at Lynet with something like hatred, and Lynet must decide what to do—and who to be—to win back the only mother she’s ever known…or else defeat her once and for all.

Entwining the stories of both Lynet and Mina in the past and present, Girls Made of Snow and Glass traces the relationship of two young women doomed to be rivals from the start. Only one can win all, while the other must lose everything—unless both can find a way to reshape themselves and their story.

My Thoughts

*I want to say thank you to Macmillan International, Flat Iron Books, and Karina of Afire Pages for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this magical blog tour*

What are words? I actually don’t know how and where to start. So please bear with me guys, for this review will be very random. I’ll put my thoughts into words without any hesitation.

Girls Made of Snow and Glass is probably the most powerful Snow White reimagining I’ve ever read. It’s no secret that the book is a feminist YA novel, and surprisingly, Melissa did a pretty great job. It’s quite diverse, which I didn’t expect.

The story as well as the characters seemed familiar, yet refreshing. The strong female leads were portrayed in amazingly different ways. Wherein I didn’t presume it to be that good. Too good. This is a character-driven novel. I am pleased that though I’m someone who has a weak spot for plot twists & turns, this one did not even disappoint me a bit. I loved the characters of Mina, Lynet, and Nadia.

The concept of this book mesmerized me. Especially how wonderful the girls were made. How they were handled. Mina was a human, whose heart was replaced by glass, while Lynet was made of the magician’s blood, and snow. Mina and Lynet’s relationship was downright beautiful. Where I fell in love with are the girl’s stories, their personalities, and their relationship. For this isn’t your typical mother-daughter conflicted story. Their relationship was so complex. It was all about love. Craving love, wanting to feel loved, and the desire to be able to give it. I was in awe as to how developed the characters are. There were no knights in shining armor, no prince charming. Man, that was what I’ve been looking for! Girls/women who can fight for themselves, stand, be courageous, be their own hero. The girls were strong, brave, they know what they want, and they’re persistent. Mina, Nadia, and Lynet, just proved to every reader that they can be whatever they want, they can do whatever they want to. And that their only limit is their self. 

I originally rated the book 4.5, but of course, I needed to round it up. 4.5 stars for the reason that the pacing disturbed me, if the pacing wasn’t too slow, it’s too fast. Also, I want to point out the lack of world building. More background about the curse that was placed in Whitespring. I needed more, but despite these facts, GMOSAG was written beautifully, it was well-thought of.

Overall, I was really hooked. Beyond impressed. Melissa captured me, wholly, in ways I wouldn’t want to forget. With her exquisite and moving writing style, she dared to touch her me as her new reader. MELISSA THAWED THIS FROZEN HEART! 

Rating

5stars


author

15454955

Melissa Bashardoust (pronounced BASH-ar-doost) received her degree in English from the University of California, Berkeley, where she rediscovered her love for creative writing, children’s literature, and fairy tales and their retellings. She currently lives in Southern California with a cat named Alice and more copies of Jane Eyre than she probably needs. Girls Made of Snow and Glass is her first novel.

 

 

Girls Made of Snow and Glass Mood Board

For Blog Tour

GIVEAWAY

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

 


imo.jpg

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

9 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust (Book Review + Mood Board + Giveaway)

  1. “The story as well as the characters seemed familiar, yet refreshing.” I COULDN’T AGREE MORE Bb. I’m so glad you loved GMoSaG as much as I do. Thank you for joining GMoSaG tour and for making that mood board! It’s perfect. ❤😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

