5 REASONS WHY YOU MUST READ KARMIC HEARTS BY JHING BAUTISTA (+deleted scene)

Title: Karmic Hearts

Author/s: Jhing Bautista

Publication Date: 2017

Publisher: Summit Books, Pop Fiction

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 241

Genre: YA Contemporary, Fantasy

synopsis

“Love. Magic. Fate. Best-selling romance novel author Karmina Joan writes about these things. She believes that every person has a purpose, that every soul has a destiny to fulfill. She thought hers was simply sharing her stories.

Her story unfolds with Cupid, the Angel of Love himself. He brings with him a mysterious vessel and a message from on high. It turns out Karmina has a bigger purpose after all—a mission that will make or break humanity as we know it.

As Cupid teaches her the tricks of his trade, Karmina unknowingly gives him something unexpected in return— something the angel of love will find oddly familiar. This may become the one flaw in an otherwise perfect plan that destiny had in store for them.

Does love truly conquer all or are there limits to what humanity can do in the name of love? Witness as Karmina struggles to find the answers before time runs out on true love.

My Thoughts

**Thank you Pop Fiction for hosting this wonderful blog tour for Ms. Jhing’s Karmic Hearts. I’m also grateful to those who are behind all of this. Thank you so much for this opportunity.**

19075347_1336752233041142_321391438_n.jpg

5 REASONS WHY YOU MUST READ KARMIC HEARTS BY JHING BAUTISTA

 

1. THE MALE PROTAGONIST IS SWOON-WORTHY 

Some of you may have known Cupid from a classic mythology. He is the considered as the god of love, affection, and desire. This Cupid from Karmic Hearts is the Angel of Love. A sweet, charming, yet a serious one, a character that you wouldn’t get enough. I’m quite sure I’ve been swooning the entire time I’m reading this book.

2. STRONG CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT WAS PRESENTED

Now let’s talk about the female protagonist, Karmina Joan. I was impressed by how the author handled her. Karmina is a kind of character who reflects real life people. An imperfect one. She started off as someone who seems lost, someone who doesn’t know what to do, and as the story progresses, so does she. Her decisions became well thought of. It was also pretty obvious that she learned a lot.

3. IT HAS AN ASTOUNDING CONCEPT AND PREMISE

The idea of this novel, is forbidden love. Thus, the growing love between Cupid and Karmina. This kind of concept isn’t new to me, but the fact that it’s between an Angel who’s famous to a lot of readers is concerned, and a typical innocent girl who was suddenly tasked to do something, is what intrigued me. The author dug down enough interesting information, and found something unique that will capture her audiences. Next is the premise. The main characters have their own goals, as well as their personal fears. There were serious obstacles that rose between them. Which made the book more interesting due to the fact that it’s fiction but the message it conveys is realistic. IT WAS ALL AMAZINGLY DONE.

4. THIS IS A BOOK ABOUT LOVE, FATE, AND DESTINY

Who wouldn’t love to read a novel like this one? I will be honest, I am someone who doesn’t believe that what happens in our life is beyond our control. For me, we always have to have the right answer and to do the right thing. And love? Due to past experiences I decided to not think of it as such a powerful feeling. BUT I DON’T KNOW WHAT THIS BOOK DID TO ME. WHAT ARE WORDS!

5. FAITH AND LOVE’S IMPORTANCE WAS MANIFESTED

I saw myself in Karmina, being someone who doesn’t usually pray. There are parts where Cupid asked her to do so. Told her to be sincere and humble when doing it. It made me realize that having faith to someone is important, it gives you hope, strength, and will. It’s like saying if you aren’t afraid, you can do anything. And that I believing in what-could-be’s aren’t bad.

Ms. Jhing Bautista’s writing was exquisite. I enjoyed reading her book. I almost forgot how fun it is to read pop-fiction novels. How such books make me feel. Now I think I’m gonna read more.

Rating

4stars

KARMIC HEARTS’ DELETED SCENE 

(The word file is available at the end of this part)

‘Cupid! Nasaan ka ba?!’

Hinanap ko sya sa buong bakuran namin, sunod sa bahay… hindi ko pa rin sya makita. I took a shot and went near the old well again. Baka nandun sya.

True enough, he was there. He was sitting on the well’s rim.

“Hoy! Nandito ka lang pala! Kagabi pa kita hinahanap!” He was busily plucking the petals off a sunflower. Tinabihan ko sya. “Hoy…” untag ko. I bumped my shoulder on his. Hindi nya ako pinansin.

“So ganyan? Hindi ka mamamansin?”

“Leave me alone,” he muttered.

“Is it about Joseph?” I sighed as he threw the last petal on the ground. “Look, I didn’t invite him here. Kusa syang sumunod. Hindi ko naman alam na susundan nya ako eh,” paliwanag ko sa kanya.

“It doesn’t matter.”

“I swear! I didn’t plan this. Sure, I gave him directions on how to get here pero—“

“Why are you explaining? I’m not asking you,” he said coldly.

“Ano ba’ng problema mo ha? Bakit ka ba nagkakaganyan?” Naiinis na ‘ko ha. Kahapon pa ‘ko nag-aalala sa kanya tapos ganyan pa sya sa ‘kin?

He looked at me then. His stare is icy. “Your boyfriend is coming this way.”

True enough, nakita ko si Joseph mula sa malayo. Hinahanap yata ako. Agad akong kumapit kay Cupid. Alam kong aalis na naman ‘to eh. I saw Joseph stop. Tapos saka ito nagpalinga-linga. Hindi na ako nakikita.

He then gave up looking and retraced his steps back to my relatives.

 

 

Joseph Marco is Wattpad’s version of Carlo (from the KH book). In the original story, he became Mina’s love interest who made Cupid super jealous resulting to an early confession. I decided to remove the JM – KJ love affair because it’s not necessary to the story. And as you may have noticed, Mina and Cupid were able to hold hands, touch, in the old version. I removed that as well and replaced it with this ‘no touching whatsoever’ thing. It just made the story more frustrating, and I love to frustrate my readers. Haha!

KARMIC HEARTS DELETED SCENE – Amidst the Pages (1)

KARMIC HEARTS BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

SCHED

THANK YOU SO MUCH!


author

To know more about the author of this book, please follow her on the following social media accounts:


imo.jpg

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

4 thoughts on “5 REASONS WHY YOU MUST READ KARMIC HEARTS BY JHING BAUTISTA (+deleted scene)

  1. I’M CURRENTLY READING THIS AND I LOVE IT!! I HAVEN’T GOT THE TIME TO CONTINUE IT THOUGH BECAUSE OF SCHOOLWORKS 😦 AND I AGREE WITH YOU THAT THE MALE PROTAGONIST IS SWOON WORTHY!

    PS: I accidentally spoiled myself with the ending ugh

    Like

Leave a Reply

