ARC REVIEW: Grit by Gillian French

Title: Grit

Author/s: Gillian French

Publication Date: May 16th 2017

Publisher: by HarperTeen

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 304

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

is presence beside me is like heat, like weight, something I’ve carried around on my back too long.
Raw and moving, this contemporary realistic debut novel will leave readers of E. Lockhart and Gayle Forman breathless as it unflinchingly unfolds the tragic secrets being kept in a small, deceptively idyllic Maine town.


Seventeen-year-old Darcy Prentiss has long held the title of “town slut.” She knows how to have a good time, sure, but she isn’t doing anything all the guys haven’t done. But when you’re a girl with a reputation, every little thing that happens seems to keep people whispering—especially when your ex-best friend goes missing.

My Thoughts

**Thank you HarperCollins International for providing an ARC of Grit.bBeing provided a review copy doesn’t affect nor influence my thoughts about the book.**

Primarily, this book disappointed me. 
The book was a bit different than what I thought. I expected conflicting mysteries, some sort of character insanities and mind-blowing twists and turns.
Instead of having read those, the author just showcased the daily life of the main character. The story revolved around Darcy’s journey, her continuous mention about the thing that happened on the fourth of July, the sudden disappearance of her former best friend, the problems that she’s currently facing and their preparation for the beauty pageant. Speaking of, I still don’t understand the part that the pageant played, what’s its concern, why is there a need to make a storyline with a pageant or what message it’s trying to convey. 
I don’t understand a lot of things. The story focused on too many activities at once. Turning the pages, I kept on waiting to be exposed to the real mystery, with hopes of finally reading a surprise revelation. So much is going on with the plot. I struggled looking for the main point of the story. 
I admired Darcy Prentiss’ character, she’s a strong girl who gives importance to her family. A girl full of determination. Someone who doesn’t care about what other people say to her. I liked how she handled all the issues about her, the slut-shaming and all. She managed to force a smile and laugh at the insults. I guess I focused more on this kind of real-life issues (sexual assaults) than the mysteries. 
Aside from the characters’ strong voice, what kept me reading this novel is the writing style of the author. French was able to use figures of speech that sometimes I tend to forget that the confusing plot is pissing me off. I appreciated her style. 
Altogether, I think Grit has a lot of potential, and it would be an okay read if the plot wasn’t as busy as it was. Just some cleaning up will do. 

Rating

2tars


author


Gillian French is the author of three novels for teens: GRIT (HarperTeen, 5/16/2017), THE DOOR TO JANUARY (Islandport Press, 9/5/2017), and THE SUMMER BOYS (HarperTeen, 5/2/2018). Her short fiction has appeared in Odd Tree Press Quarterly, EMP Publishing’s anthology Creepy Campfire Stories (for Grownups): Tales of Extreme Horror, Sanitarium Magazine, and The Realm Beyond. She holds a BA in English from the University of Maine, and lives in her native state of Maine with her husband and sons, where she’s perpetually at work on her next novel.

 


imo.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Leave a Reply

