BOOK REVIEW: Songs of Our Breakup by Jay E. Tria

Title: Songs of Our Breakup

Author/s: Jay E. Tria

Publication Date: August 22nd 2015

Publisher:

Format: Kindle

Number of Pages: 183

Purchase at:

synopsis

“Every breakup has its playlist.

How do you get over a seven-year relationship? 21-year-old Jill is trying to find out. But moving on is a harder job when Kim, her ex-boyfriend, is the lead guitarist of the band, and Jill is the vocalist. Every song they play together feels like slicing open a barely healed tattoo.

Jill’s best friend Miki says she will be out of this gloom soon. Breakups have a probation period, he says. Jill is on the last month of hers and Miki is patiently keeping her company.

But the real silver lining is Shinta. Having a hot Japanese actor friend in times like these is a welcome distraction. This gorgeous celebrity has been defying time zones and distance through the years to be there for Jill. Now he is here, physically present, and together he and Jill go through old lyrics, vivid memories, walks in the rain, and bottles of beer. Together they try to answer the question: what do you do when forever ends?

thoughts

** Thank you ms. Jay Tria for providing an e-copy of your book.**

What I loved most are the book’s characters. I can’t help but like all of them; their personalities, attitudes, how they handle things, everything. Seems like I can feel what they feel. Each has their own experiences that I can tell it happened to me too. Especially Miki, my love for him will stay here forever in my heart.

Songs of Our Breakup, oh god, this book is all emotions in one. It made me sad, it made me cry my heart out, it made me realize a lot of things. Especially when it comes to coping. SOB gave me the answers I’ve been looking for.

After a long stretch of silence, she spoke to the empty, inky sky. “Miki says breakups have a 3-month probation period.”

“What happens there?” Shinta murmured.

“You wait.”

“For what?”

“For someone to change their mind.”

“And if nobody does and the three months are over?”

“You move on. ”

Shinta sidled in closer beside her. “Why bother waiting that long?”

She turned to him, his face mere inches away that her breath grazed the tip of his nose when she answered. “A question I ask myself every day.”

 

There were lyrics that made me hope it’ll eventually be turned to a real music. Because damn those lyrics reverberates the emotions, the feelings, of its writer.

With all those, and ms. Tria’s amazing writing style, could I even ask for more? The second book maybe. I can’t wait to know more about the characters! I know there’s still too much than what has been written.

Went through a rough break-up? Can’t get over? Not sure about how you feel? Song lyrics? Emotional roller coaster? This one’s for you

 

Rating4stars


author

Jay E. TriaHi! I’m a writer of contemporary Young Adult and New Adult romance. These days I’m writing paranormal/fantasy too, and it’s a fun exercise. I’m often inspired by daydreams, celebrity crushes, a childhood fascination of Japanese drama and manga, and an incessant itch to travel.

 

 

 

Follow  on:


Thank you

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Songs of Our Breakup by Jay E. Tria

Leave a Reply

