BOOK REVIEW: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Title: A Torch Against the Night

Author/s: Sabaa Tahir

Publication Date: August 30th 2016

Publisher: Razorbill

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 464

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

“A Torch Against the Night takes readers into the heart of the Empire as Laia and Elias fight their way north to liberate Laia’s brother from the horrors of Kauf Prison. Hunted by Empire soldiers, manipulated by the Commandant, and haunted by their pasts, Laia and Elias must outfox their enemies and confront the treacherousness of their own hearts.

In the city of Serra, Helene Aquilla finds herself bound to the will of the Empire’s twisted new leader, Marcus. When her loyalty is questioned, Helene finds herself taking on a mission to prove herself—a mission that might destroy her, instead.

thoughts
**I would like to give thanks to Penguin Random House International for the review copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. Also for giving me the opportunity to join A Torch Against the Night International  Blog Tour**
 A Torch Against the Night is the second installment of An Ember in the Ashes series, and boy should you believe that this book amazed the hell out of me.
Let me start off by saying I love how the sorcery in the book unravels. How it works, who has magic and who doesn’t, and how the magic intertwine within their world. I love the magic system, I find it interesting and cool. I want to know more. 
The characters! Reading the book, they grew more and more mysterious and unpredictable. Each of them blew my mind! I’m dying to figure out the mystery behind Cook’s sudden appearance in some parts, Laia’s abilities, Keenan, and the Commandant’s history.
The plot. Oh my, I never expected a plot like this one. The surprise ending caught me off-guard! I experienced lots of suspense and surprises in the midst of reading the book. Turning each page made me feel anxious. I like how Sabaa plotted out the book, I like the direction of it. It made me excited for the next book. I want to mention the way she gave small details on the first book that made huge impacts on this sequel, oh gosh, I loved it. 
As much as I’d like to give this book 5 stars, there’s this one reason why I didn’t. It’s said that going to Kauf takes longer than two months. Sharks, a long journey eh? I was disappointed when I expected it to be a slow but a sure on, but it ended up in a flash. The journey did start slow but ended quickly. In short, the inconsistency of the pace. 
It took me a long time before making a review for the simple reason that I was drained. I think I just expressed all my feelings through eating. Too cliche but the twist at the ending left me gasping for air. The brutality of ATATN is somewhere in between nerve-wrecking and entertaining. 
Brace yourself! 
Hello Ph bookdragons, you can ourchase the book at NATIONAL BOOKSTORE

Rating

4stars


author

7770873.jpg

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.

 

 

Follow  on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Leave a Reply

