THE HALF OF ME SERIES BY DIANA T. SCOTT BLOG TOUR | REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

Hello everyone! I’m glad to tell you guys that it’s my first time to join a blog tour! Today is an exhilarating day because the blog tour for one of my favorite book series finally started! Hope you guys will enjoy my review for the second book LOVE ME, WHILE I’M GONE. Also, please don’t miss the giveaway and the excerpt! Details are included below my review 🙂

HOM

 

For a very long time, my biggest accomplishments had nothing to do with what I really wanted. When I decided to give up my mother’s dream and fight for my own, I never imagined choosing one dream could put me on the path of the one I never knew I wanted – meeting him. Collin. He quickly went from a friend to a companion, to soul mate, to heartbreak.

After he left Chicago, leaving me with nothing more than a text message, I only had one sane choice – to act like he never existed and go on with my life. A ghost can’t break your heart.

But now he’s back and he’s prepared to prove me otherwise. Is it possible to love                                                                                    someone against your will?

thoughts

An expeditious and a light read!

Emily knows what she wants and she doesn’t let other people tell her what to do. What to become. She’s funny, smart, and she’s witty.

Collin, on the other hand, is also sweet, he has enough sense of humor, but there’s something about him that makes me want to punch him in the face. I mean, he couldn’t have just left. He should’ve explained himself, reason why I didn’t dare to hate Emily for hating him. He just ran away.

The relationship between Emily and Collin is cute! I’m pretty sure I smiled from beginning ’til end of the book. But bit parts are frustrating, really, for I the one thing I want most is to go to them and help them go through the difficulties they’re facing. Though some parts are a bit of a drama, still, the characters never failed to make me smile and laugh. I swear, it was an emotional roller coaster.

The book has a pretty common plot, but that did not stop me from savoring each word of it. Yes, cliche, but very well contended with.

Diana has this writing style that I don’t like. No, no, dislike is not the right term. It was okay, but it isn’t my kind of writing style.

Still, I recommend this book to anyone who’s in need of a light, but a roller coaster of a read.

Rating

4stars

LOVE ME WHILE I’M GONE EXCERPT

Prologue

Emily

Today the floor was pulled from under my feet. The grip gravity had on me made me feel like the fall would never end. My body ached from the sudden use of all my muscles at once and my breathing was coming in fast, shallow breaths. I probably should mention the floor I’m talking about is a metaphorical one and the reason my body was reacting the way it did, was a guy. A guy I never thought I’d see again but was somehow staring right at me, his eyes as wide as mine.

The only one in the elevator was him. Collin. I would say my Collin, but I don’t think he actually ever belonged to me. Not even when the only thing separating us was our breaths combined. No, don’t go there! The way my eyes protested when I tried to blink again made me realize I was staring at him, unblinking, like a creep. For a really long time. Long enough for the elevator to start closing its doors again with me still outside, on the hallway of the hospital I just started working in as an intern. My first day. My first hours, in fact. My first elevator ride. And he’s here. In scrubs. Shit!

 

Collin

I can’t believe I’m in my third year of residency already. The fact that I should actually be in my fourth and final year it’s even more mind-blowing. I can’t bring myself to regret missing that year, not even now. I know it was the right thing to do and I’d probably do it all over again, although I would change one major thing about it. I would give anything to go back in time and find her. Explain. Ask her to wait for me. I still think about having her in my arms. Not one goddamn day passes that I don’t wish for it.

The elevator doors close behind me as soon as I step inside and I take another deep breath. I need it every time I think about her. My Em. Every day I enter this hospital decided to ask Em’s sister, Lana, about her and every day I decide against it all over again. It would kill me to hear she has someone. Or worse, if she’s engaged or something. What idiot could have her and let her go? I can only think of one…

Chicken shit as I feel, at least I’m happy in my ignorance. Almost. Not really. Ok, I feel like crap! I’ve been back for more than a year and although I see Lana a few times a week and sometimes even have lunch together, she never once mentioned her sister. Maybe she finally went to Europe, the way she always said she would. It kills me not to know, but it could just the same kill me to find out.

The first pager ping of the year makes me jump. But only internally. I’m a guy, after all. We don’t get skittish. I take it out of its pocket and check what the emergency is just as the elevator doors open one more time before dropping me off one floor below. Nobody comes in so I lift my head to see if I can push the button that closes the doors again. My heart stops in my chest only to start again in the next second, beating like a maniac. I wonder if that’s how it feels like before having a heart attack.

Emily’s pupils are suddenly so big, they don’t allow me to see the beautiful deep brown of her eyes. I know the color is there, but I would’ve liked seeing it. I’ve missed it. I’ve missed her. So much, my chest aches at the sight of her so close to me. Her mouth opens and closes, but she doesn’t say anything. I think I’m just as shocked as she is because the doors close and I still can’t zap some sense into my brain. I never expected to see her again. Not in this hospital. Not in scrubs. She works here and by the look on her face, she must hate me. She should. I’m a fucking douchebag.


THE OTHER TWO BOOKS IN THE SERIES

AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE HERE:

Amazon

Book Depository

Barnes&Noble

AUTHOR BIO:

DIANA

Writer of Our Demons, Best Friends, Love Me While I’m Gone and Color Me Yours. Perpetually sleep deprived, but never sorry. I am a colorful mix of the things I love. Chocolate eclairs. The sound of a guitar. The first snow of the year. Sleeping on freshly washed sheets. The smell of a new book. Man buns. Using rock-paper-scissors to settle an argument. Old, washed up jeans. Comfort food. Old people acting like kids. The ocean. My dog. My family.

 

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Goodreads

 Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

 

THE FUN PART!

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

GIVEAWAY

Thank you

 

2 thoughts on “THE HALF OF ME SERIES BY DIANA T. SCOTT BLOG TOUR | REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

Leave a Reply

