BOOK REVIEW: How To Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.inddTitle: How To Hang a Witch

Author/s:  Adriana Mather

Publication Date: July 26, 2016

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 368

Purchase at:

synopsis

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.


Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

thoughts

FUN FACT: The author of this book is actually a descendant of Cotton Mather. COOL RIGHT!

This book isn’t one that I could say “the best”, I can’t say that right from the very first start it will capture you. To be honest, I’ve managed to read almost 30 pages before deciding that this book is good. 

Adriana brings us to the present-day Salem. Samantha Mather, together with her stepmother moved to Salem, specifically to her grandmother’s house. Being a descendant of the man who’s mention to be a great supporter to the Witch Trials- Cotton Mather, isn’t easy. Sam became a leper in school, in town. The so-called Descendants of the Witches torments her, which makes her life in Salem, hell. To top it all, she’s having troubles with a guy spirit at home. 

The main character, Samantha Mather , is stubborn, she’s ill-tempered. But she is brave, fearless, but she is determined to fight for the people around her, to save their lives even if it means risking hers.

Salem was completely ascertained. There were a lot of creepy and strange stuffs. Their beliefs are a bit unnerving. I haven’t been to that place. And even if I’m creeped out, I wanted to visit Salem. 

I was trying to figure out where the title fits in, not until I read a part (almost at 1/2 of the book). Finally, the title fell into its rightful place.

What freaked me out most is the paranormal love interest of the characters. I still can’t stand the idea of a spirit falling in love with a living girl, and vice versa. Thank goodness, there’s not much for a love triangle. 

How to Hang a Witch gives us high school vibes, mainly its social hierarchy. The book also carries the angst of being a new student, someone who’s new in town, an outsider. 

The book’s concept is distinct. It has this perfect blend of mystery, thriller, and suspense. Not to mention romance and humor. It has utmost factor of spook. It’s packed with unearthly run-ins that will make your spine tremble in thrill.

Adriana Mather is impressive when it comes to misleading her readers.There were times when I’m positive that my predictions are true. Then she’ll just bitchslap me in the face as if saying. “you think so? Ha!” This book is full of surprises and it pleased me. Warning: The book, and its author is deceiving! And that’s truly awe-inspiring. 

Readers will acknowledge the evocative locale of this book. 

“Salem isn’t like other places.”

Rating4stars


author

9845715Adriana Mather is the 12th generation of Mathers in America, and as such her family has their fingers in many of its historical pies – the Mayflower, the Salem Witch Trials, the Titanic, the Revolutionary War, and the wearing of curly white wigs. Also, Adriana co-owns a production company, Zombot Pictures, in LA that has made three feature films in three years. Her first acting scene in a film ever was with Danny Glover, and she was terrified she would mess it up. In addition, her favorite food is pizza and she has too many cats.

 

Follow  on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: How To Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s