BOOK REVIEW: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

9781101886694_custom-a4d802e39e4ef28ef27ec439a7a0b705289989fc-s400-c85Title: Sleeping Giants

Author/s: Sylvain Neuvel

Publication Date: April 26, 2016

Publisher: Del Rey

Format: Hardback

Number of Pages: 320

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton,World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.


A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

thoughts

Sleeping Giants falls under the category Science-Fiction, some of you knows that I am not a fan of such genre. In fact, I haven’t read any book under Sci-Fi simply because I dislike anything related to Science. I find scientific terms complex, confusing, and there are a lot of elements that are pretty much incomprehensible.
The book consists series of interviews, the novel also has reports, transcripts inside.
It started off as cool and quite amazing. I was astounded, and that’s a first. Suddenly, I began feeling like I need to seek a way out of the mundane plot of Sleeping Giants.  Don’t get me wrong, the book has an excellent concept, but I think it didn’t went that far. There aren’t much actions, neither too much Science. That’s supposed to make me feel good right? Instead, I was disappointed.
Though the lack of too many actions and Science disappointed me. I enjoyed the book! There’s too much to discover, and I was too eager to learn a lot if things.
When you read the book, you’d have to put things together because there’s no narrator, which makes it difficult enough to understand what’s happening. That’s basically what I did, where I’ve through.
What I loved most is the mystery behind the interviewer, he may be predictable at times, but he’s cold and no doubt smart. He also seems deadly powerful.
Overall, I’m giving this book a 2.8 over 5 stars rating. Rounding up, it’s 3 stars.

Rating

3stars


author

8534434.jpgSylvain Neuvel dropped out of high school at age 15. Along the way, he has been a journalist, worked in soil decontamination, sold ice cream in California, and peddled furniture across Canada. He received a Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of Chicago. He taught linguistics in India, and worked as a software engineer in Montreal. He is also a certified translator, though he wishes he were an astronaut. He likes to tinker, dabbles in robotics and is somewhat obsessed with Halloween. He absolutely loves toys; his girlfriend would have him believe that he has too many, so he writes about aliens and giant robots as a blatant excuse to build action figures (for his son, of course).

Follow  Sylvain on:

 


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Leave a Reply

