BOOK REVIEW: Unrivaled by Alyson Noel

Title: Unrivaled

Author/s: Alyson Noel

Publication Date: May 10, 2016

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 420

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

thoughts

Thank you so much to HarperCollins, HC International, for providing a finished copy of Unrivaled in exchange of an honest review.

“Just how far will you go, to get what you want?”

This sounds cliché but,  can I please have the second installment right now? 

I’m not a fan of Mystery/Thriller, but this book changed my mind.

I haven’t read any of Alyson Noel’s books, but I’ve been hearing things bout it.  In all honesty, I didn’t expect high of this book, in fact, I expected it to run flat and too predictable. Obviously, I’ve been proven wrong.

Unrivaled introduced us to its characters and their lives wherein it can’t be mistaken that all are hungry for fame, and money. The book also brought us to the world of celebrities. Showbiz, at which point,  is full of lies, jealousy, blackmailing, secrets, and mystery.

I love how the characters portrayed realism. I like how each of them is unique in their own way, and how none of them can be trusted. It adds more mystery to the story. But I dislike how credulous they’ve been.  Noel did a superb crafting of her characters’ personalities. But I I’m not quite a fan of the character pairings. Sorry but I’m shipping Tommy and Layla. I didn’t like how Tommy easily switched his feelings from one to another. And unlike the MCs, I think he didn’t undergo a development, sucks.

 The scheme is totally profound, it’s downright flabbergasting! I have my mind on the book from beginning ’til the end. Exactly what I needed. 

I not against the book being fast-paced, because I actually liked the pacing. Enough to keep the readers anticipating. What made me deduct a star, aside from a character, is the Prologue. I do think that the prologue isn’t necessary, especially how it turned out at the present parts of the book. It just subdued what happened.

All-embracing, the first installment was fantastically made, leaving a massive cliffhanger at the end which left me demanding (really) for the next book.

 

Rating5stars


author

 

200317.jpg

Alyson Noël is the #1 New York Times best selling, award-winning, author of 23 novels, including: FAKING 19, ART GEEKS AND PROM QUEENS, LAGUNA COVE, FLY ME TO THE MOON, KISS & BLOG, SAVING ZOË, CRUEL SUMMER, FOREVER SUMMER (a LAGUNA COVE/CRUEL SUMMER 2-in-1), KEEPING SECRETS (a SAVING ZOË/FAKING 19 2-in-1), the IMMORTALS series: EVERMORE, BLUE MOON, SHADOWLAND, DARK FLAME, NIGHT STAR, EVERLASTING, the IMMORTALS spin-off, RILEY BLOOM series: RADIANCE, SHIMMER, DREAMLAND, WHISPER, THE SOUL SEEKERS series: FATED, ECHO, MYSTIC, HORIZON; with short stories appearing in the anthologies FIRST KISS (THEN TELL), KISSES FROM HELL, & DEAR BULLY.

Follow Alyson on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Unrivaled by Alyson Noel

  1. I saw this book many many times in the bookstore but never take a look at the synopsis, but now maybe I would after reading your review. Honestly, I didn’t know this falls into the mystery/thriller genre. lol.
    So thanks for this great review, Imo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

