BOOK REVIEW: Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten ( #ThrillerThursday ) @PRHGlobal

Title: Beware That Girl

Author/s: Teresa Toten

Publication Date:

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 316

Purchase at: Amazon

synopsis

“For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl, this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.


The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brian appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.”

thoughts

Thank you so much PRH Global and Penguin Randon House for the review copy, in exchange of an honest review.
3.3 stars
The chronology is bound between Olivia, a girl who depends on pills to get through the day, and Kate, a masterful liar, a control freak who has contumelious history. For their own benefits they became friends.
Kate is quick-witted. Since she’s a scholar,bit is evident that she’s brilliant. Aside from those, she’s too mysterious and I don’t like her attitude which made me dislike her.

Some goes to the rich, but depressed Olivia.
This book is darker than I thought it would be. The plot made me feel uncomfortable. The relationship between Olivia and Mark is intolerable. I’m always in a state of uneasiness when it comes to the two of them.
Beware That Girl was gratifyingly written. Though spine-chilling, I find some parts of the book predictable. And sometimes, the plot descends tedious at few points. Not to mention that the pace of the story is turtle slow. And dialogues seem to be monotonous.
I liked Toten’s writing style. It’s quite appealing, and is oriented. I liked how she made complex characterizations more complicated because of her skill. It’s coronary.
Though I feel like some parts are missing, I enjoyed reading the book.
If you’re a fan of Gillan Flynn’s and Abigail Haas’ books, give this one a try.

 

Rating


author


Teresa Toten
My earliest and most fervent ambition was to grow up and take my rightful place among the other mermaids. When cruel and insensitive adults crushed that dream by insisting that mermaids did not exist, I settled on the more mature aspiration of becoming an intergalactic astronaut. Then I realized that math would likely be involved. So, in the end, I went to Trinity College at the University of Toronto where I got a BA and then an MA in Political Economy taking great care not to take a single English or Creative Writing class. The only thing I knew for sure was that I was never ever going to be a writer. That would be silly, fanciful and well, unrealistic. And then I started to write…

Follow Teresa on:


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten ( #ThrillerThursday ) @PRHGlobal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s