BOOK REVIEW: Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke

Title: Damsel Distressed

Author/s: Kelsey Macke

Publication Date: October 14th 2014

Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

Format: Kindle

Number of Pages: 321

synopsis

Hot girls get the fairy tales. No one cares about the stepsisters’ story. Those girls don’t get a sweet little ending; they get a lifetime of longing.

Imogen Keegen has never had a happily ever after–in fact, she doesn’t think they are possible. Ever since her mother’s death seven years ago, Imogen has pulled herself in and out of therapy, struggled with an “emotionally disturbed” special ed. label, and loathed her perma-plus-sized status.

When Imogen’s new stepsister, the evil and gorgeous Ella Cinder, moves in down the hall, Imogen begins losing grip on the pieces she’s been trying to hold together. The only things that gave her solace–the theatre, cheese fries, and her best friend, Grant–aren’t enough to save her from her pain this time.

While Imogen is enjoying her moment in the spotlight after the high school musical, the journal pages containing her darkest thoughts get put on display. Now, Imogen must resign herself to be crushed under the ever-increasing weight of her pain, or finally accept the starring role in her own life story.

And maybe even find herself a happily ever after.”

thoughts

 

4.5 Stars

Damsel Distressed has the most beautiful and promising dedication I’ve ever read

“We often try to hide the parts of ourselves that have been broken. We work so hard to make sure other people never see the bits that make us feel weak. This book is dedicated to those precious, fractured fragments, for teaching us to grow and hope and never, ever stop fighting.”

Reading the first line, I knew I was hooked.

I really like the character of Imogen, despite the fact that her name is only a letter different from mine, I can really connect myself to her. Like she’s the one who’s voicing my thoughts out, expressing my feelings. She felt so real. Similar to Imogen, I’m not fond of Disney princesses too. She always rant about Disney’s Princesses. Though she’s in pieces, she tries so hard to be strong. The only thing I hated about her is her callousness to her step mom and dad.

A Cinderella story, but Imogen’s not very Cinderella like, she’s more like the stepsister. Her mom died instead of father. New mom and stepsister moves in. It was 6 Decembers ago when her father decides to marry another woman. Imogen went hysterical of course she hasn’t moved on yet, but she has to. Her dad fell in love, and I hate the fact that instead of being happy for her father, she went crazy about the new mother and sister thing. She started putting cuts on her arms, six cuts- one for each year since her mom died. Imogene is broken, and she thinks that she’s beyond repair. Yes, I just typed my name. Like Gen, I have a sister (a real one though) and she’s adored by everyone. Smart, gorgeous, she has the body I’m rooting for, she’s talented. Everyone loves her. Whilst I’m the ignored one. Obviously, I’m insecure. And it pains me that I can see myself on Imogen. I used cut too. Anyway…

Reading Grant and Imogen moments, I felt really cozy. The two of them have been best friends since kindergarten. They’re sweet and cute, with the right amount of romanticism. And THE SEXUAL TENSION OH GODS. Grant loves and accepts his best friend for who she is. He’s always by her side even if Imo kept on pushing him away.

“I’ll stay.” He says.

The whole time I’m reading I kept on hoping that they’d just kiss already! You’ll like them to bits. Imogen has friends whose always there to help her get through the day. They support her, they give her love.

“People should treat each other with kindness, but I’m not talking about them. You can’t fix them. I’m talking about you. You deserve better treatment from yourself.”

I’m glad Gen learned how to face her fears, accept her failures. That she confronted her weaknesses and all the things that were hurting her. She realized that in the loneliness of one’s life, there’s always light. I was practically tearing up while reading the character’s exchange of apologies. Too heartfelt.

Kelsey Macke’s writing skill is truly endearing. It wasn’t deep or breathtaking, but loved the way her words were constructed nonetheless. I don’t know, her style makes me feel comfortable. I really love it.

Though the book touched my heart, and though it’s all about being broken and being whole, I’m still left in pieces despite of the lessons. This book is a really powerful one, provocative. This tells us about an individual’s insecurities, jealousy, also one’s demons. I just had a beautiful, yet emotional journey. I NEED MORE BOOKS LIKE THIS.

Btw, thanks to miss Macke, I now have a new mantra!

“I am whole. I am more than just the pieces that I see. I am so much stronger than I seem.”

Rating

5stars


Thank you

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke

  1. I only skimmed this review because I didn’t want TOO many spoilers, but…you may have convinced me to actually pick this book up! I’ve been intrigued and wanting to read it for…er…I forget how long, but haven’t actually picked it up yet. I just added it to my “want to read” list on goodreads, though–thank you so much for such an awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Bahaha, it’s cool–I didn’t get spoiled because I’m pretty good at spotting the rotten critters when they’re coming up 😉 But yeah, a warning might be good!

        I will! Erm….eventually! XD

        Like

Leave a Reply

