BOOK REVIEW: You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Title: You Know Me Well

Author/s: David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Publication Date: June 07, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Format: Kindle

Number of Pages: 256

Synopsis

Who knows you well? Your best friend? Your boyfriend or girlfriend? A stranger you meet on a crazy night? No one, really?

Mark and Kate have sat next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. For whatever reason, their paths outside of class have never crossed.

That is until Kate spots Mark miles away from home, out in the city for a wild, unexpected night. Kate is lost, having just run away from a chance to finally meet the girl she has been in love with from afar. Mark, meanwhile, is in love with his best friend Ryan, who may or may not feel the same way. See Goodreads’ Blurb

My thoughts

I don’t usually give 2 stars or below. but this one… Ugh.

I felt like David Levithan let me down. Geez, I’m not saying that I did not like the book. I was just disappointed, I expected more from one of my most cherished author. I guess expectations do lead to disappointments.

I was lost. I completely lost track of where the story is going. It was too fast. I was in an absolute whirlwind. The story has potential, sadly, it felt too dull for my liking.

I can’t even relate to anything. It wasn’t bad, but I can’t feel even a slight connection among the characters. Everything was at speed. The character’s friendship literally went from nada to tada. Even the romance, it seemed like it was obligatory.

The premise is extremely marvelous. There were actually exciting and enjoyable parts. The implementation of the whole idea is what didn’t work out for me.

Though I’m not a fan of this collab, I still recommend this book to everyone who’s in the mood to read a book that revolves around its character’s emotions, feelings, and struggles.

2Rating

2


Author

2889003.jpg Nina LaCour grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. Her first job was at fourteen in an independent bookstore, and she has since worked in two others. She has tutored and taught in various places, from a juvenile hall to a private college. She now teaches English at an independent high school.

11664.jpg

David Levithan (born 1972) is an American children’s book editor and award-winning author. He published his first YA book, Boy Meets Boy, in 2003. Levithan is also the founding editor of PUSH, a Young Adult imprint of Scholastic Press.


Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Thank You

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

  1. I personally liked this one, great points though. A-lot of people have struggled with the relationship between Mark and Kate suddenly coming about, I just saw it like any Romantic Comedy movie plot like ooo meet in a bar suddenly lovers but in this case friends! I wasn’t a fan of Kate’s bestfriend, she really annoyed me. ‘Don’t ruin our night because you’ve ruined yours’, after that I was like wow she’s annoying. Eyeroll every time she was featured haha! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it really depends on our mood or the time we read a certain book for us to like it. I do understand your points, sometimes we don’t really connect to the characters as much as everyone did. Great review! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello, ate Nicka! Thank you so much for stopping by. I agree, maybe I really am not in the mood for such genre when I read the book. I might read the book again, when I’m up for some LGBT kind of book with unlikeable characters 🙂 hahaha. Thank you soooo much! :’)

      Like

Leave a Reply

