BOOK REVIEW: Our Demons, Best Friends (Half of Me #1) by Diana T. Scott

Title: Our Demons, Best Friends

Author/s: Diana T. Scott

Publication Date: May 100, 2015

Publisher: Diana T. Scott

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 326

SYNOPSIS

“Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?”

My Thoughts

First things first, the cover is stunning, and the blurb’s truly promising. Thus, I expected a lot

OUR DEMONS, BEST FRIENDS is a simple book that contains deep messages. There were too many insights. Sensitive issues were tackled that even after several hours of reading it, of closing the book, I cannot stop thinking about it.

It was fast-paced. Seems like the author squeezed the story at 308 pages, where in fact, it could be prolonged.

The writing is forthright and pleasing enough, Ms. Scott could do better. The writing style used in this book was plain-vanilla.

The story line is not unique, neither cliché. Scott made it different in terms of the complexity of her characters and the situations they’re in. She managed to make it too addictive for her readers mainly because all emotions were poured and it was overflowing.

Like most girls I know, Ava is one who’s charming, bubbly, humorous, and sweet outside. Hiding- are her demons. No one will even suspect that they exist within her. Like Sebastian, she has her dark, broken parts. Unlike Ava, Sebastian is actually not a good person when it comes to interacting with people. He has this cold demeanor which some might hate. Underneath those, are pain and struggles from his past. As their souls being united, they grew in, developed, and became better persons.

Though I liked the main characters, there are issues; like Ava who tends toalways mention things that has already happened. Full of hindsights. And most of it are irrelevant.

Whilst the book screams pure drama, I liked how Scott maneuvered humor and entertainment in this supposed to be too-heart-wrenching-story.

Still, the story of this book is perfect for fans of Cynthia Hand, Tabitha Suzuma, and Jay Asher.

 

RATING

3

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s