BOOK REVIEW: Broken Sky (The Broken Trilogy, #1) by L.A. Weatherly

Title: Broken Sky (The Broken Trilogy, #1)

Author/s: L.A. Weatherly

Publication Date: March 1st 2016

Publisher: US Borne

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 500

SYNOPSIS

Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world.

Where war is illegal, where harmony rules.

And where your date of birth marks your destiny.

But nothing is perfect.

And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

From the bestselling author of the Angel trilogy comes Broken Sky – an exhilarating epic set in a daring and distorted echo of 1940s America and first in a new trilogy.”

My Thoughts

My first Dystopian read, I did not expect that much. The blurb didn’t give that much teaser as well, so I did not expect anything at all.

The prologue had me intrigued immediately, then the first chapter and the preceding were told in the past. But there’s no need for a prologue! Prologue or not, readers- I think, will still be intrigued to read the book. So what’s the use.

I was in the verge of putting the book down. Because even with an intriguing line, it’s slow paced. Being a reader with patience, it’s a good thing I waited for the pace to be fine, and it did.

Amity Vancour isn’t your typical female lead. A skilled pilot, a skilled peace-fighter. But she isn’t a fighter per se. Amity found out something that she shouldn’t. And in order to reveal how their world is full of corrupt politicians, she put herself in danger. She plays a really important role, and she isn’t your badass main character.

The romance between her and Collie- who’s also a peace-fighter, was favored. Though there are times I suspect Collis. They’re best friends who drifted apart suddenly one came back. Suspicious, right?

There’s this one character, Kay, who’s dying to get herself into the villain’s circle for whatever her reasons are. Which made me eager to know more about her.

The world building was quite confusing at first, you’ll get the hang of it. The make-believe world was fresh, realistic, and it was skillfully done. Detailed in a way that I can actually imagine being in that world and seeing through Amity’s eyes.

A Star chart that literally manipulates, controls one’s destiny, watched by a domineering dictator. That’s pretty unique, one of a kind I must say. And it’s really impressive. I never thought that astrology can be a major part of a dystopian book with a plot like this one.

The writing style is indeed exquisite. The book was well-written. Though I admit, there are times that I’m having difficulties for there are terms I can’t understand, technicalities to be specific. Things about aircrafts, pilots, whatsoever.

The plot was really unique, it was interesting. I’ve never encountered a storyline like this one. I enjoyed the book, I was engaged. But I wasn’t pulled by the book, I’m not invested emotionally. I continued reading just to know what happened and what will happen next. Indeed Amity must know who to trust. I can only imagine how surprised I was by the twists and turns. There were betrayals, deceptions.

The book has this impenetrable mystery that it kept me anticipated until the very end.

The ending made me scream. I will definitely read the second installment.

RATING

4

 

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Leave a Reply

