BOOK REVIEW: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Title: Second Chance Summer

Author/s: Morgan Matson

Publication Date: May 8, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Format: e-book

Number of Pages: 468

SYNOPSIS

“Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

See goodreads’ blurb

My Thoughts

TRULY HEARTBREAKING! Morgan, what have you done to me? 

Confusion was building up on my mind. Why does Taylor think that she deserves the treatment she’s been getting from her old friends? Why are they so mad, so sad? Why are they annoyed that she’s back?

It started off a bit flat, I almost DNFed the book. But it was really interesting, and I know that when it’s Morgan Matson, there’s more to it. So I continued and gave it a chance. I wasn’t wrong to continue reading it.

Henry and Lucy, they’re truly giving Tay a cold treatment, I felt it too. The annoyance, the irritation together with pain and questions. Still, I can sense the concern.

Taylor is your protagonist who’s annoying, fearful, she runs away from everything, every problem, difficulties, dilemmas. She’s flawed which makes her realistic.

Each character has their own voice. And that’s one good thing about SCS. Also it puts up great life lessons, advices anyone might find helpful.

“The thing is that people only get hurt—really hurt—when they’re trying to play it safe. That’s when people get injured, when they pull back at the last second because they’re scared. They hurt themselves and other people.” 

Now that questions were answered. I just want to laugh. For Taylor literally runs away from each of the problems she is facing. She ran away when she’s having a hard time deciding whether to lose her best friend or her boyfriend. Lame, but it brought humor to me. 

“Lucy,” I said, looking her right in the eye, “I’m really, really sorry.”
She looked at me for a long moment, then nodded. “Okay,” 

It’s been 5 years! And I think it’s alright that Lucy forgave her easily, they don’t need more confrontations or whatsoever. Tay’s been treated a bit badly and it’s enough for a correction. Though really, “okay” isn’t such a good response to a person who’s apologizing.

The story line isn’t much satisfactory. Some dialogues, paragraphs, details, they’re just too obtuse. 

I was pleased, but not impressed. 

It’s the writing style I’m amazed, even though the book has boring plot, dull dialogues, flat details, the writing kept on fascinating me. 

This book is perfect for those who like the idea of running away, or those who run away. SCS will give you lessons. Will make you question your actions and indecisions. This is a book for (obviously) SECOND CHANCES.

RATING

3

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

  1. Interesting…I may read this! Great reviewer nevertheless. It seems like we may have similar book interests. Check out my page for my book goals, etc 🙂 Maybe we can chat books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

