BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author/s: SJ Maas

Publication Date: May 03, 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 624

SYNOPSIS

“Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.”

My Thoughts

Magnificent was all I can say right after reading the book.

SJ Maas never failed to impress me. 

Rhysand is challenging, he’s taunting, and yes, an asshole with a heart and compassion. He’s mysterious and oh god, sexy. I love Rhys and Feyre moments, especially when Rhys gets on Fey’s nerve. And Fey’s anything she wants to be when she’s with him. He helped her grow into a better fae. I find it a bit of dull when it comes to Feyre and Tam’s moments. I mean, I can truly feel the heat of the fire between them. But sometimes it gets boring. And because of Tamlin’s fear, he’s doing everything to protect her, making sure she’s secured, leading to Feyre feeling drowned solely by the one she loves. I guess people do fall out of love, because I used to be in love with Tam, but now I’m so sorry for my heart now belongs to Rhysand. And somehow, just like maybe half of the bandwagon, I changed ships.

The protagonist’s character development, from being weak to the most powerful, from being terrified to showing bravery. Feyre grew better, developed in a way a character should. She’s been wise and responsible. I just disliked how she became selfish, thinking that Tamlin made her a pet, and unreasonable enough to ran away from one Court to another. 

The secondary characters weren’t left out. Although I didn’t like the idea that all of them were paired to one another. All has their own voice.

Most loved part, when Rhysand’s telling Fey about their bond. About how he had been when he knew that she’s his mate. Why he did those this, why he acted in such a wicked way. I felt it, I felt what Rhys had felt. And goodness gracious The High Lord of The Night Court, he cried.

As for the World Building, I can’t say anything, but it was astounding. Maas gave enough details about the other courts as well as its commanders. She took us to the bigger and deeper part of the world she had built. 

The Storyline and plot were all that I needed to admire SJ Maas’ book. There were lies, secrecy, also betrayal. I did not expect a single one. 

I just find it a bit absurd that Feyre let herself be killed because of her love for Tamlin, only to realize that right after everything, that person’s caging her. She fell out of love. Also, only to ascertain that she’s mated with someone else.

As always, SJ Maas’ writing style is exquisite. It was never dull, flat. The book kept on improving, I can say that this book is better than the first one. Figures of speech were used smartly and catchy. It’s just that sometimes, it’s too much. Like the use of the hyperbole. You know that I’m actually talking about the sex scenes. But mind you, readers, it was intimate, passionate. Still, it didn’t ruin the book.

The ending left me breathless. I was left aching, wanting more. I need the next book, I think I’ll be in a reading slump until I get over ACOMAF. Such a cliffhanger! Pure evil! Wickeeeed! I don’t think I can wait any longer for book 3! 

*screaming for more*

RATING

5

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Maas writes the best characters! I liked this review. Some pro-Tamlin people were upset about the change, but I was okay with it! I knew there was more to Rhys than we were getting in that first book! I also hated how Tamlin didn’t do anything during Feyre’s trials. I mean I get he had to think about his people and the bigger picture, but I just couldn’t let his inaction go!

    Like

    1. Omg yes yes! I really hated him that time, standing there and doing nothing. Then by the end he’ll be so mad at Amarantha. I also knew betrayals will come but I did not expect that one. I cannot wait for the third installment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

