BOOK REVIEW: The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye

Author/s: Cynthia Hand

Publication Date: February 10. 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: e-book

Number of Pages: 386

SYNOPSIS

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, “The Last Time We Say Goodbye” is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.”

My Thoughts

It has an exquisite, fantastic, satisfying writing style.

Each words were alluring, I’m bewitched. Each lines were enchanting. Reading the book as if I was pleasuring myself and I never wanted to stop.

Tackled about someone who just lost a truly important person in her life, who stopped believing in God, who’s trying to find a way back to her old self, to her old life. A girl who became lost.

I love the characters. Knowing that this book id fiction, they come off as real. Their emotions, feelings. They’re complex, a bit melancholic, and sometimes dark. The character development was visible, you can see how Lexi and other characters grew. It was terrific.

The ROMANCE. Lol what? Romance? I should’ve said (typed) Biology, Chemistry! Science in general. That’s how the main protagonist defined love other than.

“Love is a classic example of a delusion.”

“Love is purely chemical.”

“In my experience, love doesn’t bring happiness and stability. But believing in love can cause a substantial amount of harm.”

Some parts of the book, situations seem lifeless, dialogues seem flat, dull. Which ruined the beauty of the writing style and the allure of the other parts.

The mystery in this story is why Tyler killed himself, why he did things that will ruin him. Sometimes, I also ask myself was it really suicide? After reading the book, I felt like an idiot for thinking things like those.

It kind of freaked me out. I actually thought Lexi had gone mad, seeing ghosts and stuffs. What can I say? I do understand that she just lost her brother and she’s in the process of grieving.

I’m pleased at how the book ended, but disappointed because the author hadn’t given enough reasons for Ty’s suicide. But I understand, I truly do. I just wanted to read more from Tyler’s POV. Because like Tyler, I’m an empty person too, below empty. And reading this book made gave me lessons, provided knowledge about such feeling.

This book is perfect for people who have lost someone, having trouble with their loved one also someone who have felt and who’s feeling empty.

RATING
4

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

Leave a Reply

