ARC REVIEW: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

Title: You Were Here

Author: Cori McCarthy

Publication Date: March 01, 2016

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Format: eARC

Number of Pages: 400

SYNOPSIS

Grief turned Jaycee into a daredevil, but can she dare to deal with her past?

On the anniversary of her daredevil brother’s death, Jaycee attempts to break into Jake’s favorite hideout—the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum. Joined by four classmates, each with their own brand of dysfunction, Jaycee discovers a map detailing her brother’s exploration and the unfinished dares he left behind.

As a tribute to Jake, Jaycee vows to complete the dares, no matter how terrifying or dangerous. What she doesn’t bargain on is her eccentric band of friends who challenge her to do the unthinkable: reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.”

My Thoughts

**Thank you so much Netgalley for my ecopy of You Were Here by Cori McCarthy in exchange of an honest review.**

I’m lost for words

I really don’t know what to feel. What I’m feeling. I think I’ve been in a roller coaster ride of emotions. I was tongue tied. You Were Here caught me off guard. It caused me all the feels!

Let’s start from the settings, it was strange, yet great. I love how I felt like I’ve traveled to a new place again. A new surrounding, a new environment.

The characters. They all felt so real to me, as if I was with them the whole time doing things and such through their journey. I’m emotionally attached to each of them. I invested almost all of my feelings to them five, lot of feelings, even the unexpressed ones. I adored how each 5 of the characters were given distinct voices. Each has their own problems, brokenness. Still, you’ll love them to bits!

The writing style was extraordinary, from the words, sentences, down to its paragraphs. They were truly engaging. I’m impressed that it gave life to the book.

The novel dealt with a lot of things: death, grief, acceptance, forgiveness, recovery, friendship, life, most of all, HOPE. It’s amazing how such aspects can perfectly fit in just one book.

This is a perfect novel for the youth! A letter for everyone. I recommend this book to every teenager out there. The book will break you in to a billion pieces, but it will also teach you how to put those pieces back and be whole again.

RATING

5

 


 

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

15 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

  1. Pingback: By Title

Leave a Reply

