ARC REVIEW: Firsts by Laurie Alizabeth Flynn

Title: Firsts

Author: Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Publication Date: January 05, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Format: eARC

Number of Pages: 320

SYNOPSIS

“Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward, fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time- the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy- so far. Her absentee mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn- or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her reputation and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, FIRSTS is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.”

My Thoughts

**Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me a review copy of Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn.**

It was my first time reading a book with sex, that isn’t passionate. I’ve always read ones with chemistry. With burning passion, with love.

First time reading a book wherein a girl is teaching guys how to be good in bed.

First time to abhor a protagonist!

Mercedes is not your regular girl. Unlike any others, she doesn’t like the idea of dating. Or whatever people do when they’re dating. Mercedes is like this “Hi fella! Do you want to be devirginized? Here’s my number. Call me?” I really, truly, hate her! She did a lot of ungrateful and unbelievable things. She takes away boys’ virginity, it’s like she’s being a relationship wrecker. I know, I know that she’s trying to help the boys, I know that she just want the girls to have a wonderful and memorable FIRST TIME. But oh gosh, we all know that wherever we look at, it’s still wrong, it’s pure stupidity.

Even though I hate her, I can’t hate her more, knowing that she’s doing those things with a deeper reason. I kept reading this book because I wanted to know the story behind her actions. I wanted to understand her. To be really honest, I hate girls who act like sluts. Ones who sleep with lots of boys. But what I hate more are those who sleep with boys in a relationship! Because who would like a person like that? Who would feel sympathetic and pity? Who would like to be with one like that? Well my answer’s supposed to be NO, but after reading this book, I changed my mind.

This isn’t your typical YA Novel, this book tackled about realistic events, everything you read will bring a huge impact in your life. I hated the character, yes, but that doesn’t mean I hated the book too. In fact, it was written fantastically, it was a splendid one. As a 16-year old girl, reading such should make me feel uncomfortable but Laurie made me feel as if it’s very usual for me to read something like this.

The moment I picked Firsts up, I’m immediately hooked. Actually, I’m hooked until writing a review. This book gave me so much emotions, emotions that aren’t easy to set aside.

Respect. It was my first time learning RESPECT from a book. Not just respect for someone like Mercedes, but respect for everyone.

I highly recommend this book to everyone with open minds. I swear you’ll love it. It will blow your mind and change your way of looking at a person.

RATING

2


 

About the Author

Laurie Eliza9816754beth Flynn writes contemporary fiction for young adults. Her debut, FIRSTS, will be published by Thomas Dunne Books/St Martin’s Press in 2016.

Laurie went to school for Journalism, where the most important thing she learned was that she would rather write made-up stories than report the news. She also worked as a model, a job that took her overseas to Tokyo, Athens, and Paris.

Laurie now lives in London, Ontario with her husband Steve, who is very understanding when she would rather spend time with the people in her head. Laurie can mostly be found writing happily at her desk, with the world’s most spoiled Chihuahua on her lap. Laurie drinks way too much coffee, snorts when she laughs, and times herself when she does crossword puzzles.

Laurie is represented by the amazing Kathleen Rushall of the Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.


 

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

25 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Firsts by Laurie Alizabeth Flynn

  1. Great review 🙂 I’m really intrigued by the book but also worried whether I’ll like it… But your review nudged me towards wanting to read it.

    Like

  2. I’m honestly torn on whether or not I want to read this book. There are lots of great, positive reviews, but the premise … is not my thing. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me, but the entire plot of the story does not appeal to me whatsoever. I MIGHT give it a try. Who knows! Great review. 🙂

    Sasha

    Like

  3. I’ve read a lot of books that include sex but I don’t know why I’m so hesitating about picking this book, it just doesn’t appeal to me. The premise just doesn’t get my interest, but great review, glad you liked it that much ! 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ve been reading so many good reviews of this book recently. It sounds amazing!! I know I’ll hate Mercedes, because how could you not? But I think it’ll definitely be worth it 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: By Title

Leave a Reply

