ARC REVIEW: The Truth by Jeffry W. Johnston

Title: The Truth

Author: Jeffry W. Johnston

Publication Date: February 02, 2016

Publisher: SOURCEBOOKS Fire

Format: eARC

Number of Pages: 240

SYNOPSIS

Lie, torture, kill—there’s nothing Chris and Derek wouldn’t do for their younger brothers…

When Chris wakes up tied to a chair in a dark basement, he knows that he’s trapped—and why. He shot and killed Derek’s little brother. He had his reasons, but no matter how far Derek goes to uncover the truth about that night, Chris’s story won’t change. It can’t. There is far too much at stake…

Derek is desperate to prove his brother didn’t deserve to die. And if kidnapping his brother’s killer is the only way to the truth, than he’ll go to extremes. But Chris’s truth is far more dangerous than Derek could have imagined, and knowing could cost both their lives…”

My Thoughts

**Thank you Netgalley and SOURCEBOOKS Fire for providing me a review ecopy of The Truth by Jeffry W. Johnston.**

The antagonist woke up with duct tapes around his arm, leg, hugging his body. For him to be able to be free. All he has to do is to tell the TRUTH. Nothing but the truth.

I am a kind of person who’s not afraid to tell the truth. Truth for me, sometimes, is indeed ugly and painful. Still, no need to tell lies. The person will still get hurt, you’d rather hurt them with the truth. So while reading the book I kept on asking myself why is it so simple for someone to tell a lie, or even leave parts of the truth. Now I know the answers to my question.

Jeffry presented some flashbacks, and as a new reader of such genre, it’s a huge help, it made me understand things that are happening.

I requested this book from Netgalley thinking that this book will change my view in mysteries. Also, I was very enthralled by the blurb, another reason why I asked for a review copy. Unfortunately, I’m really sad to say that the book disappointed me. I expected more, I expected a lot from this one. The plot twist was truly predictable, the clues are everywhere, it’s easily seen.

I almost tried DNF-ing the book but I wanted to give it a try. I wanted to give it a second chance, so I did.

It was not dreadful, but it wasn’t magnificent either. It was in between, let’s say considerable. Since I’m not used to reading thrillers, I still recommend this to readers who love thrillers and I would love to know about their thoughts.

To sum it up, this book was an OKAY for me. And yes, I’m telling The Truth.

RATING

3


 

About the Author

Jeffry W. Jheadshot-2-edit-2ohnston has published about thirty-five short stories and more than two hundred articles. His first young adult novel, Fragments, was an Edgar Award nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery and a Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers selection by YALSA. He lives in the Philadelphia area with his wife and their teenage son.

 

 


 

Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram | Blogger

 

 

3 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: The Truth by Jeffry W. Johnston

  1. Pingback: By Title
  2. I’m so sorry this one disappointed you! When I was reading the synopsis at the start of your review, it sounded rally good, but now I’m not too sure. There’s nothing I hate more in mysteries than when it’s too predictable, and although I don’t read a lot of mysteries, I don’t think I’d enjoy this one.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this one! I hope you find a mystery you like more than this one 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Like

Leave a Reply

