ARC REVIEW: How Many Letters are in Goodbye by Yvonne Cassidy

Title: How Many Letters are in Goodbye

Author: Yvonne Cassidy

Format: e-ARC

Publisher: Flux

Untitled-2

Seventeen-year-old Rhea Farrell carries the scars of a childhood accident in which she lost her arm. But she also carries scars that aren’t so visible–the loss of a mother she hardly remembers, the impact of her father’s drinking, and her confusion and pain around accepting her sexuality.

When Rhea runs away, she turns to the person she always wished she could confide in–her mother. And just like she used to do as a little girl, Rhea starts to write her letters–to tell her things she can’t tell anyone else, to share her fears, to ask for help. Rhea’s journey on the streets of New York brings her deeper into her mother’s past where she uncovers buried family secrets. And as she finds out more about the woman her mother truly was, Rhea also discovers just what kind of woman she wants to be.

My Thoughts

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Flux for providing me an e-ARC of Passenger in exchange of an honest review.

Intrigued by the blurb, I immediately requested an ARC or e-ARC from the publisher/ NetGalley. The cover is really simple yet it speaks for the story itself. Take a glimpse, a map, letters.

The main character, Rhea Farrell, an Irish who went to New York to find answers, to find her mom, whom she said was dead, but never found her body in the water. A one armed girl who’s unemployed reason is employers doesn’t trust her, doesn’t believe in her, but she don’t give up. She doesn’t even give up on finding her mum. She’s nice, she’s brave, she doesn’t care what everyone thinks. Untrusting and temperamental, characteristics that I despise about her.

The setting was in New York, which is a good thing, for I have another place to mind-explore. New York is one of the places I’d love to visit soon.

The story is realistic, it is not mainly about love but most of all, finding yourself, discovering your past, and accepting who you’ve become. Let alone friendship and trust.

There’s actually not that much romance, still there’s a little like and love interest between her and Laurie, and oh gosh, I never thought that two girls kissing would sound so hot. Rhea and Sergei- a gay she saved from close to being beaten, seems so sweet, so intense together.

I disliked how the story didn’t make me feel anything such as intensity, fascination, just mere curiosity and sadness. I must admit, the story ruined me. The protagonist’s struggles on finding answers. Reading this made me feel like- meh, nothing exciting at all. To make things short, it’s a bit boring yet I’ve felt rollercoaster of emotions. It’s a sad, sad book.

“People are allowed to be fucking sad.”

I almost gave this book a 2.5 stars out of 5 if it wasn’t for the lessons I’ve learned and great things. The story was really long for a typical YA Contemporary. It was slow, I can’t even believe that I’ve finished the book. Answers began to unravel almost at the end, the rest of the book just give its reader lessons- which is a good thing. God and faith was also mentioned, how you just believe in God and have faith you just need to cooperate and he’ll do the rest, I loved that.

Even though I didn’t like the story that much, the writing style was grand, it was note worthy! Yvonne Cassidy made me realize a lot of things, and surely the future readers will do too.

This is perfect for fans of Love Letters to the Dead

RATING

3


About the Author

Yvonne Cassidy (New York, NY) is an Irish author who has written three novels, including How Many Letters are in Goodbye? When she’s not writing, Yvonne works at Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen and uses her writing skills for fundraising and teaching creative writing.

 


Thank you

Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: How Many Letters are in Goodbye by Yvonne Cassidy

  1. Pingback: By Title |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s