Tax and Duties regarding Imported Book

June 13, I received a notice from the Post Office stating that my books had arrived.

so, yesterday i went to Mandaluyong Post Office. I have received a book from an Author which costs AUD$20.00 and they told me to pay 100 for the post office service charge and i was also told to pay a 140 peso amount of Tax. I just want to ask if it’s necessary? I kept on telling them that import books whether educational, commercial or personal should not be taxed. But they insisted and I don’t have any proof so I still have to pay 140 pesos. Guys, I need help, there are still books that are going to be shipped and I don’t want to pay high amount of taxes.

Leave a Reply

