Confess by Colleen Hoover

SYNOPSIS:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

REVIEW:

Auburn Reed, I can connect to her character because I’ve experienced her struggles.. how she loved the guy and how she lost him as well. She’s such a loving mom, yes a mom at age 16. A brave woman who learnt how to fight for her child and do anything for him. Owen Mason Gentry, OMG! I love the artist in him, he’s.. OMG I can’t even explain his perfection. Both of them felt so real, too good to be true.

The story… it kept me guessing on what happened to OMG and why does he have to be imprisoned, how and when did he knew Auburn (right before their meeting at the studio) also, why he had said that Auburn is the reason why he started painting.

I have 2 favorite parts of the book. First the part when Adam said “Tell me something about yourself that no one else knows. Something I can keep for myself.” and Auburn replied “I think about all the people I wish could die instead of you.” there’s nothing funny in the scene, nothing happy, but very heart-wrecking. I’m not yet even on Chapter 1, but CoHo made me cry already. Second, when Owen was explaining his paintings to Auburn. The part where I can read all the confessions, where I can see all the paintings related to that confession. Confessions like “Sometimes I wonder if being dead would be easier than being his mother.” and “I’m scared I’ll never stop comparing my life without him to how my life was when I was with him.”. 

This book made me cry, made me remember my past, made me think and think and think. Especially when I’m looking at the paintings and reading their meanings. I can’t breathe, I can’t feel anything, I just want to break down and close my eyes for they’re just too heartbreaking. But even though it’s a pain in my heart, i still go back to the pages where there are the paintings and read the confession all over again. I hated and loved how I can relate to the story so much. The story did grip me. I can’t help but not to stop reading it, I kept turning the pages.

If I could change something in the book, it would be when Trey appeared.

Most heartbreaking lines? -> “I love you so much.” His voice is breathless and full of fear. “I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.” My tears fall harder at his words. “And I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t.”

I recommend this book to everyone, even if you’re not a love story, NA kind of reader, you WILL LOVE this.

QUOTATIONS:

“I’m scared I’ll never feel this again with anyone else,” I whisper.
He squeezes my hands. “I’m scared you will.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“There are people you meet that you get to know, and then there are people you meet that you already know.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“I’m afraid if I listen to my heart once, I’ll never figure out how to ignore it again.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Selflessness. It should be the basis of every relationship. If a person truly cares about you, they’ll get more pleasure from the way they make you feel, rather than the way you make them feel.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“I think love is a hard word to define,” I say to her. “You can love a lot of things about a person but still not love the whole person.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Sometimes I miss them so much, it hurts me right here. It feels like someone is squeezing my heart with the strength of the entire goddamn world.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Some secrets should never turn into confessions. I know that better than anyone.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Please don’t allow anyone to make you feel less than what you are.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Sometimes we don’t get second chances, Owen. Sometimes things just end.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“It’s not a confession if no one reads it. It’s just an unshared secret.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Sometimes in order to save a relationship, you have to sacrifice it first.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“Sometimes people want what they can’t have and confuse that with feelings for another person.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

“life decision is permanent other than a tattoo.”
Colleen Hoover, Confess

RATING:

Uh, can I rate it more than 5 stars? Maybe an infinite star?

Leave a Reply

