All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Book Review)

SYNOPSIS:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

REVIEW:

The story is about a girl and a boy who met each other when they’re about to take their life. They got paired up in a class project and they wandered different lovely, memorable places. And they fell in love with each other. They almost made it Finch saved Violet…they almost made it but things change. We’ll never know what happens next.

I never thought of this book as an imitation to Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, as well as John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars. The only similarity of this book to their story is that two teenagers met and fell in love with each other. But this one, this one is written amazingly, the plot is very different, same goes to the character’s characteristics and how they act.

I have just read the most heartbreaking story ever. And I don’t know what to say right now. I don’t even know what to feel. I don’t know. This book has changed me, not just the way how I think but also, changed the way how I look at life, change the way how I understand life. And mostly, this book made me understand why people commit suicide. This book deals with anxiety, depression and mental illness.

At first I think of “Bipolar Disease” as a similar term for moody. But it’s not, in fact, it’s way far similar to moody. I never knew BD can be that bad until I read ATBP.

So far this is really the best YA Contemporary I’ve ever read. I really loved it, it will always stay in my heart. And the lessons will always stay in my mind.

And there’s only one question that’s left in my mind “Finch, you saved Violet’s life. Why can’t she save yours?” , whenever I ask that question, all i do is cry. Cry until I can’t anymore. This story hurt me so much, it hurts more than being left by my boyfriend.

Now I don’t know if I’d love Jennifer to have new YA book, or not. Because maybe, just maybe, she’ll make me cry again.

QUOTATIONS:

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“sometimes there’s beauty in the tough words—it’s all in how you read them.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

“Sorry wastes time. You have to live your life like you’ll never be sorry. It’s easier just to do the right thing from the start so there’s nothing to apologize for.”
Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

4 thoughts on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Book Review)

      1. I know! It was so hard to write review for it because I just could form any words to describe it after I read it.I think of the two main characters my favorite is Finch

        Like

Leave a Reply

